Arrow of Light

Leadership Contact:

Arrow of Light Den Leader: Joel King email or call 603.843.5172

As the highest award in Cub Scouts, the Arrow of Light is often mentioned by Scout parents and volunteers.

So what is the Arrow of Light?

The Arrow of Light award can be earned by 5th graders who have completed the Webelos rank. It is an award that prepares Cub Scouts to enter the Scouts, BSA program. In fact, Arrow of Light is its own rank, marking a milestone in a Cub Scout’s growth. The award is significant in the Scouting experience – so significant it is one of the only Cub Scout badges that can be worn on the Scouts, BSA uniform.

Are Crossover Ceremonies Part of the Arrow of Light?

While some packs may combine the celebration of these two achievements, Arrow of Light and Crossover Ceremonies are different. A Crossover Ceremony is an event Packs choose to host to recognize the Scouts moving from Cub Scouts to Scouts, BSA. Often a Crossover Ceremony sends Cub Scouts to walk across a mini-bridge to symbolize their move (think of it as a Cub Scout graduation). Arrow of Light, on the other hand, is a rank and award. It is a staple in the Cub Scout program and something many Scouts who move through Cub Scouts to Scouts, BSA will achieve.

Award Requirements:

1. Be active in your Webelos den for at least six months since completing the foruth grade or for at least six months since becoming 10 years old.

2. Complete each of the four required Adventures with your den or family

REQUIRED (Core) Adventures

Building a Better World

Duty to God in Action

Outdoor Adventurer

Scouting Adventure

3. In addition to the four required adventures listed above, complete at least one elective adventure.

ELECTIVE Adventures

Adventures in Science


Art Explosion

Aware and Care

Build It

Build My Own Hero


Earth Rocks!


Fix It

Game Design

Into the Wild

Into the Woods

Looking Back, Looking Forward



Project Family


4. With your parent, guardian, or other caring adult, complete the exercises in the pamphlet How to Protect Your Children From Child Abuse: A Parent’s Guide.

5. Earn the Cyber Chip award for your age.